New project/Child’s book

20121212-110555.jpg

20121212-110616.jpg

I am working on a new project for a woman who wrote a children’s story, for which she has also wrote an accompanying song. I’ve attached the two first images of the twenty some-odd drawings I will be doing for the book. Enjoy, and I’d love feedback 🙂

~Katerina

Page by page……

**************************
In the daytime
In the garden
I was an earthworm
in the yard and

************************
I was an earthworm

************************
In the garden

************************
In the daytime
I was a worm

************************
In the evening
In the garden
I was scooped up by the Robin

****************************

Oh the Robin

***********************
from the garden

**************************
In the evening I flew

*************************
In the night time
In the garden
I was a seed
In the yard and

****************************
I was a seed

***********************
In the garden

*******************************
In the night time I was a seed.

********************************
In the sunrise
In the garden
I was a sprout
In the yard and

************************************
I was a sprout

*************************************
In the garden

**************************************
In the sunrise
I was a sprout

***************************************
In the morning
in the garden
I was a flower
In the yard and

************************************
I was a flower

************************************
In the garden

************************************
In the morning I came to life

********************************
In the sunset
In the garden
I was compost
In the yard and

**********************************
I was compost

********************************
In the garden

*******************************
In the sunset
I was dirt.

Fin

So, I imagine that the first stanza of each verse is the whole picture, where a color scheme/landscape of that time of day is featured and then the proceeding pages zoom in to the different parts of the scene and show the worm/robin/seed, etc. in very close detail. For the ‘in the garden’ pages, a different aspect of the garden could be examined in closer detail. I imagine it all very tactile and rich in color. Tell me what you tink. Oh! And the flower is blue

Aloha Fair Friend!
I’ve attached the song that is the book. I have it all mapped out into pages which I can send along to you if you are interested in working on it. I am imagining a simple sing-along lullaby book for littles and their parents to sing along to at bedtime. Like a new interactive version of Goodnight Moon, addressing the cycles of life.

Leave a Reply

